My Poor Little Homeless Babies!

image

Poor little things! It’s not as if they’re unloved – far from it! Just one look, and I had to have them. And that’s the problem. The family is growing and must have a home.

Let me introduce you!
From left to right;

Escallonia “Iveyi”, Salvia “Senation Deep Rose”, Drimys lanceolata, Caryopteris clandonensis “Dark Knight”, Helwingia chinensis, Cestrum parqui, Pittosporum tobira, with a tiny hellebore seedling at the front.

Things appear uneventful on The Long Garden Path over recent weeks, with not much to report or write about, other than broken fence panels, which is of little interest to anyone. Activity levels outside have been far too low, with either the wind or incessant rain beating me, sending me scurrying indoors to the welcome warmth.

There have been some pleasures on the “walks round the estate”.

Winter scent, in the form of Clematis armandii ” Apple Blossom”

image

and various Sarcococcas,

image

and the early spring beauty in the Woodland.

image

image

But the little grey cells have not hibernated. Indeed, they are working well, if nothing else is. They have long been pondering the problem. And so, now, there is an overhaul in the pipeline.
I think I’ve already mentioned tweeking the cottage border and adding in or moving, scented shrubs, which, hopefully will do better in a sunnier border. And now the “walks” have clarified where each will live.

Of course, this mental exercise has had a knock on effect, which will impinge on both the existing shrub border, and the Woodland. Will I ever resist moving my poor plants about and let them be?

The little grey cells have also pondered the Allotment, and improvements that can be made there. They have persuaded us to add two new raised beds – one for veg. and another one for more strawberries. You can never have too many strawberries!

So I have been shopping. A start has been made. Seeds have been bought and started off, and compost and soil improver stocked up on. Now all we need is some dry and, hopefully, warmer weather, to leap into action! (Or at least creep!)

Oh, but before I get carried away with excitement, I just have to go back to the aforementioned fence panels. None of this can sensibly be done till they are repaired!

Such is a gardener’s life!

10 thoughts on “My Poor Little Homeless Babies!

  1. Chloris

    Like you I have been scheming and planning and longing to get outside.What an awful winter we are having. And like you, I always have pots of Maids – in- waiting. Sometimes it takes a while to find just the right spot for them.

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I like that – “maids in waiting” . Does that mean I’ll always have some maids/homeless? I’m sure I know the answer to that one ! Another of gardening’s mysteries – and, indeed, pleasures!

    Reply
  3. Angie

    I have decided no major or minor for that matter projects this year. My garden needs left well alone. Thus far it’s the only New Year’s resolution not broken!
    It sounds like your plans are all sorted in your head, so just to put them all into practice now. Good luck with it all. I look forward to reading all about them.

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    You need the walks round the state to hone ideas and schemes, regardless of any tasks other than the thinking process, don’t you Ali?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

