In a Vase on Monday – My “Copy Cat” Vase!

image

I was so inspired by Cathy’s magnificent egg cup collection, in her meme of last week, that I vowed to do a copy cat vase. Hope you don’t mind, Cathy!

I decided to show off my “collection” of four! The spotty ones were bought to co-ordinate with our dinner service, which we have displayed on our dresser. The other two came courtesy of our son’s Easter eggs from his childhood. Oh, and I added in a plain white one – the ones we actually use. ( After all, all good displays are based on odd numbers!) Not really much of a collection, eh? But I loved what Cathy did last week, with her eggcup, and it made me think twice about what you can use to make a lovely arrangement.

I picked a few blooms of an unknown miniature narcissus to grace the eggcup. These were planted out from a lovely Mother’s Day gift a couple of years ago. I’m so pleased it can live on in the garden. I chose to show off the display on the dresser, complete with the rest of the dinner set, and some examples of one of my collections.

Not much of an arrangement, but pretty, I think!

Please pop over to Cathy’s blog, “Rambling In The Garden”, to see more of her lovely, imaginative vases.

20 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – My “Copy Cat” Vase!

  1. Cathy

    That is really lovely Ali – and of course I don’t mind you ‘pinching’ the idea! We bounce ideas off each other all the time on this meme, and egg cups are such a useful receptacle for tiny arrangements – yours looks great with the rabbit (only chickens here), very spring-like! We have just started eating boiled eggs again regularly and after a few weeks I started using ones from the collection as it seemed daft not to as they are such useable antiques. Miniature narcissi are so free with their flowers it’s easy to pick several without noticing their absence and I will certainly be picking more of mine. Thanks for joining in – see you again on a Monday….?

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      Thanks, Cathy! I had a tendency to keep things for “best” and never use them, and then thought “What’s the point?” They’re designed to be used. I would love to join in more often, as long as it’s ok to create it on the Sunday. So maybe see you Monday! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Angie

    I can never find an egg cup when I need one! Great idea and it does just show with a bit of imagination, you needn’t confine your blooms to vases.

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      I agree! I have a cupboard full of potential “vases”, encompassing jugs, milk and wine bottles, carafes, even baskets. All I’m lacking are some jam jars. But I’d never contemplated using eggcups before!

      Reply
  3. thelonggardenpath Post author

    The narcissus are so sweet, aren’t they? I don’t really think of my eggcups as a collection. The collection I was referring to was my collection of mortars and pestles – some of which appear in the background. At the last count, they totalled 39.

    Reply
  4. Julie

    Your little daffs look so happy in that eggcup – and what a lovely way to use your eggcups – Cathy certainly has started something now!!

    Reply
  5. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Thand you! So simple too! The dismantled gift has served me well. A primula and an Ivy have also found a home in the garden, while the container has been put to good use in the house. It had a little sign, too, saying “Home” which now graces a pot by the front door. Nice to see it live on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

