The Joys of the Day

image

A beautiful day off, spent in the garden, has thrown up some lovely things to share with you.

I had so much catching up to do – yet again, well behind, what with one thing or another. Despite the workload, I still had to step back and enjoy what was
on show. After all, isn’t that what the garden is about?

Well, it didn’t take too long to start idling! The site of the Amelanchier in full bloom against the clear blue sky, was able to stall me before I even started!

Then there was the lovely lemon violas, bought last autumn for late summer flowers.

image

They’ve come back so beautifully now, decorating our patio table.

Then there’s my tulips, just starting to open.

image

“La Belle Époque”, after its wonderful display last year, was intended to be lifted after flowering and then replanted. But, as in the words of the Scottish Bard, “The best laid schemes…..” etc. So come spring, I’m afraid to say, they were still in last year’s pot. I didn’t hold out much hope. But, they have come back, and are now flowering, albeit not to last year’s splendid display. I may not keep them for another year, as they’re showing signs of disease, but it’s a lovely floral bonus!

image

I always enjoy watching the “Snake Dance” of the emerging Solomon’s Seal.

image

The sight of the fruit cordons, flowering again, is so reassuring!

image

And sometimes the simplest pleasures are the best! The first cut of the season. “The garden always looks better with the grass cut!” At least, that’s what we always say!

The bees and butterflies were happy to keep me company. And the birds provided the sound track.

Now, all that’s needed is smell-o-vision for the complete experience!

A happy day! 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Joys of the Day

  1. thebikinggardener

    Lots of lovely things there – and it is not just the sight of the newly mown lawn but the smell 🙂 I have La Belle Epoque flowering now – it is new to me and very lovely. Its good to know it is a good doer too

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Mmm….yes! Pity we can’t pass that pleasure on too! I’m a relative newcomer to tulips. I just love the unusual colour of this one – especially second time around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

