I went to Ashwood and….

image

….and spent some of our garden vouchers.

Ashwood, as would be expected at this time of year, was awash with the most gorgeous Hellebores. So many beautiful colours! I was particularly taken with a deep red one, with lovely marbled leaves – sorely tempted! (Sorry! Didn’t notice its name! Will pay more attention next time!) Several Witch Hazels were also available – “Pallida” in particular, caught my eye, or, more correctly, my nostrils. It was a lovely pale lemon, and it seemed to have the best scent of those on sale. Sorely tempted again! But I came away with a clematis – Clematis armandii “Apple Blossom”. Thank you, to my work friends! My choice was decided by space available. One of the uprights of the pergola has been bare for a couple of years, awaiting its replacement. Needs must! But I still have vouchers available for a Hamamelis which I’m determined to have. I just need to find a spot. And for that gorgeous red Hellebore!

Mr. Chef also spent some of his vouchers. He spotted a lovely little Green Man wall plaque, to add to our collection. A packet of seeds made up the balance. He is planning to try some Florence Fennel in the allotment. Sounds tasty!

Plant tags were needed, too, for all the propagation I’m planning. Many changes, moves and divisions are on the cards and I hate waste!

I can’t wait to get back to Ashwood soon. I’ve left behind so many goodies!

8 thoughts on “I went to Ashwood and….

    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      This will be my second try. The first did well for a while so fingers crossed! It will be in a sheltered spot. And I’ve still got vouchers to spend! I’m sure they will be spent soon, once I do a reccy!

      Reply
  1. Cathy

    I sometimes wish Ashwood wasn’t at the opposite side of the conurbation to us – it’s years since I have been, and it must be where I bought my first ever hellebore! I look forward to seeing your clematis in flower – like Angie I have tried twice before without success, and even though I could make sure I put it in a better position this time I am still erring on the side of caution and not chancing another one (although I have just ordered a number of new clematis today from Taylors Clematis). The leaves are so pretty too, aren’t they?

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I do feel lucky being so close by! I was also tempted by some other clematis. They had C. cirrhosa, both “Freckles” and “Wisley Cream” , as well as C. balearica. They’re also on my list since I lost my last “Freckles”. I want a scented Clematis to clamber through our Amelanchier, for extended interest. I couldn’t decide which! But I do have next month! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Chloris

    That is a gorgeous choice of Clematis. I would love to go to Ashwood and see the hellebores. Could you take some photos and show us some next time you go?

    Reply
  4. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I hope to go soon, so I will certainly do that. After all, it’s no chore! There were so many on display, the choice was mind boggling! The array of different colours was incredible. All the usuals, but also some lovely golden shades, a beautiful blush pink, but that dark red one I saw, stopped me in my tracks!

    Reply
  5. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I plan to grow it over our pergola. It will be planted in a huge pot, which may restrict it somewhat, hopefully not too much! Yes, Ashwood is an excellent nursery, with such a wide variety of quality plants. It’s such a joy to visit – especially if you’re into tea and cake!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

