Santa has been kind….

image

….to me and my garden!

A good, stout pair of leather gloves (for when the need arises!), a new journal (complete with pen!), a metal planter full of yummy chutneys (what shall I plant in it, once they’re all eaten, that’s the big question!) and lots of lovely garden shopping vouchers! And what do you think of my robins? Aren’t they wonderful? They need names. I’m thinking Rudolph, Donner and Blitzen!

But that’s not all!

image

I’ve long wanted a nice, metal watering can for using in the garden. The plastic one still has its uses, but I love to have nice, good quality utensils. My Grandad’s old treasured one has sprung a leek. I bet it didn’t cost as much to him, as this probably would!

But the biggest surprise had to be my Remembrance poppy. To see one in the flesh and to own it, is truly amazing! As it says, a piece of history! I wonder if my fellow blogger, Gardening Jules packaged this one up. She was a volunteer at the installation at the Tower of London, in November.

I must say, it has been another wonderful Christmas. Hope it was for you too 🙂

12 thoughts on “Santa has been kind….

  1. The Frustrated Gardener

    There is nothing like a proper metal watering can. I have quite a collection now although the old ones can be extremely heavy when full. I was given similar gardening gloves but they are so pale I am frightened to use them!

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I will keep hold of the old plastic one, as it will be lighter for doing the whole garden. And it’s graduated for adding feed. Dirty gardening gloves are like a badge of honour. You should see my last (white) pair!

    Reply
  3. Chloris

    Jolly useful presents. My new year’ s resolution is to WEAR GLOVES. I am sick of having dirty finger nails. I have friends who wear nail varnish. Just imagine that. I have to hide my hands when I am with them.
    I like your metal watering can. Very stylish.

    Reply
  4. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I know I should wear gloves, but I find they hamper me, unless I’m dealing with thorny stuff. Hence the leather! So I’ll just have to forego the nail varnish, and keep them cut short!

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    Was your poppy a complete surprise? How fantastic – must be someone who cares a lot…;) Always lovely to have garden vouchers too – and those robins are great! Then there’s the birthday presents too…

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      Aah! The poppy, was, in fact, a birthday present, as were the gloves and the planter. I was gobsmacked! I found the whole installation so moving, and wished I could have seen it. Imagine actually owning part of it! Thank you bro!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

