In a Vase on Monday – Gather Ye Rosebuds….

image

At long last, I’m managing to join in with Cathy at Rambling in the Garden, by concocting a vase on the correct day!

I must confess to it being a bit of a rushed job, as I’m not long back from work, but I have been watching and seeing what’s available over the last few days, that could be used. When our “Silver Anniversay” Rose gave us a second flush of flowers, I saw the potential for, not only a vase, but also the title.

The composition was straight forward. The rosebuds at this stage have a lovely greenish tinge. Of course, our old friend “Annabelle” is now fading to a gorgeous lime colour and provided the “froth” that supported the roses. Lucky us, to also have the perfect shape and colour to complement the flowers, in a simple, round green pot. I did try adding some sprigs of the grass, Deschampsia, but felt it added nothing to the appearance, and spoilt its cool simplicity. So they were discarded. I even managed to find “props” in the fallen, pure white petals.

I hope you enjoy my first attempt, albeit rushed, and hope you will allow its simplicity!

image

Now, all I have to do, is to work out this link business! Wish me luck!

10 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Gather Ye Rosebuds….

  1. Cathy

    Hurrah – it worked! I didn’t recognise Annabelle in the first picture as she looked like foliage, but what a good idea to have rose buds nestled amongst her – such perfect buds too. And don’t apologise for the simplicity – that’s what I have tried to encourage with the meme, that it really IS as simple as that. A bit of plonking and perhaps an odd tweak or two – and it brings such pleasure. Pleasure in the seeking and then in the marrying up of contents, container, props and title – then the joy of the vase as a whole for however long it lasts. Sometimes we may produce something a little more complex but we are all learning from and inspiring each other, whatever our initial experience of ‘arranging’ (which for must of us is negligible). Thanks for joining us today 🙂

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Thank you, Cathy! I’ve wanted to join in for such a long time now, but have little time on a Monday. Now, I hope I’ve mastered the link thing, it may be easier in future. I have really been enjoying my challenge, to have displays of some description, indoors all year round. I fear it may get harder as the winter approaches. Imagination will be needed. And I admit, that I’m definitely a “plonker”! 😉

    Reply
  3. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Thanks, Chloris! They’re some of my favourite colours. I’m so impressed with this Hydrangea – beautiful, both before and after flowering. As a cut flower, it’s perfect – a great foil for other flowers and so long lasting. I still have a sprig in a vase from 3 weeks ago! I’m lucky, too, with the second flush of roses.

    Reply
  4. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Thank you! Hydrangea flowers are great for flower arrangements. They are so long lasting, and change colour so intriguingly! Here, they provide a lovely froth, to set off the rosebuds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

