A Chocolate Pot

image

It’s a wet Sunday afternoon. Nothing much can be done outside – at least with any comfort. So I’m amusing myself, playing around with some of my photos and practicing a new collage app.

Rachel de Thame, on the t.v. coverage of Chelsea Flower Show, did a series of articles, on themed plant collections, one of which was chocolate. For a bit of fun, I thought I’d create my own “Chocolate Pot”, using plants in our garden.

image

Let’s start with a climber, to cover the back fence or wall. Akebia quinata, or “Chocolate vine”, is a beautiful climber, with chocolate coloured flowers, that smell of vanilla, in spring.

image

Next, we need a backdrop to the border, so we have Cotinus “Grace”, with its beautiful oval, chocolate coloured leaves.

Now for the highlights of the border – the flowers.

Digitalis parviflora

Digitalis parviflora

The “Chocolate foxglove” gives us fantastic spires of chocolate coloured flowers.

Iris "Dutch Chocolate"

Iris “Dutch Chocolate”

Irises always give us stunning flowers, as well as interesting foliage the rest of the time. “Dutch Chocolate” is no exception.

Helenium "Moorheim Beauty"

Helenium “Moorheim Beauty”

We now need a flower to brighten up these chocolate tones, so I’ve introduced a “chocolate orange” element in the form of this orange daisy with chocolate centres. This daisy is a good filler providing a contrast in flower shape.

And now, to finish it all off, we need an edging.

Heuchera "Chocolate Ruffles"

Heuchera “Chocolate Ruffles”

What could be better than Heuchera “Chocolate Ruffles”! A great edging plant with evergreen, chocolate brown leaves (somewhat paler at this time of year, in this photo).

Uncinia rubra

Uncinia rubra

And, to provide a contrast in texture, we could do with a chocolate coloured grass, so this sedge fits the bill!

What a yummy collection for all us chocolate lovers!

As I said, this was a bit of fun, but I think it would work in practice. It would need a sunny site with free draining soil, although the sedge grass may need extra watering. Although shade lovers normally, Heucheras and this foxglove both like sunny conditions as well. The flaw, if it is one, is that the flowers don’t bloom at the same time, but the foliage should pull it all together.

Hope you like my Chocolate Pot! If you have any other suggestions for a theme, please let me know, and I’ll see what I can concoct!

14 thoughts on “A Chocolate Pot

  1. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Oh, no!! That was to be my finishing line! “There’s only one chocolate flower missing – can you guess? It has to be the chocolate cosmos, Cosmos atrosanguineus. To not only look, but to also smell of chocolate makes it a must. It’s on my shopping list.” I forgot my ending! 😦

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      The chocolate cosmos was definitely missing from “the chocolate pot”. It’s a shame (and a bit of a shock) that I don’t have one in the garden. Must put that right next year!

      Reply
  2. Cathy

    An intriguing little challenge for a wet afternoon – I could have included the ornamental vine Vitis vinifera purpurea ps I have recently been discovering why Uncinia rubra is called ‘hooked sedge’…!

    Reply
  3. angiesgardendiaries

    Glad to see you are keeping yourself busy as well as keeping us entertained. I’ve a small evergreen that has chocolate coloured winter colour. Podocarpus Young Rusty, although green and unassuming in summer, come winter it’s chocolate coloured foliage is just lovely!
    Keeping in with the chocolate themed names, there is also a Sedum telephium Chocolate.
    Our Heleniums are looking identical now. I had earmarked today to dead head it but like you the wet kept me indoors.

    Reply
  4. thelonggardenpath Post author

    So glad I could entertain you! It’s fun thinking what you could use for a theme. I must look into your two suggestions. Not sure I know the Podocarpus, but it sounds interesting.

    Reply
  5. Annette

    That is a lovely chocolate pot, Ali, and even better without the calories! I grow the heuchera, cotinus and cotinus and would love to find a place for digitalis parviflora, such a beauty!

    Reply
  6. thelonggardenpath Post author

    It is a lovely plant – and a perennial unlike its biennial namesake. Not only are the flower spikes lovely, the leaves have a nice silvery quality to them. At only about 0.6m high, the flower spikes aren’t as tall.

    Reply
  7. Christina

    A lovely mix for. Post and most would work together in an English garden, I can’t mix plants that have different requirements. You could add some silver for a contrast to look sparkly.

    Reply
  8. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Thank you, Joanna. It is a lovely climber. As for the iris, there are so many in that colour range that I could have chosen. I also grow “Cable Car” and “Queechee”, which actually smells of chocolate- orange! Yummee!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

