Summer Breeze…..

image

….blowing through the jasmine in my mind! (I can’t get the song out of my head, at the moment!)

This wonderful week of weather has had us appreciating a summer breeze – as I am at this very moment, enjoying an aperitif as the sun goes down, and the breeze rustles through the trees above. Bliss!
This is when a lot of scented plants come into their own, becoming stronger in the evening. Plant them close to a favourite evening seat, and it’s heaven! If backed by a warm brick wall and enclosed, as we are, even better!

image

Many of these are climbers, including our jasmine, Jasminum officinale, which grows over the pergola framing our dining area. No scent can be more heady than jasmine! It just whisks you off to exotic foreign climes!
But it does have a bit of help.

image

Against this brick wall, either side of the chiminea, grow two Trachelospermums. This one is Trachelospermum jasminoides, and is just coming into flower now. It is, as its name suggests, very similar scented to jasmine, though not quite so heavy. Its flowers are like tiny white propellers or whirligigs. The plant itself is an evergreen shrub. The Trachelospermum on the other side, is asiaticum, which is very similar, but with creamier flowers. I have found that it is not as floriferous as jasminoides. No flowers there, as yet.
Around the chiminea, we have pots of rosemary, thyme, lavender and scented pelargonium – all very Mediterranean, in keeping with the style of this courtyard area. As well as a new addition of a Myrtle, which I’ve been after for some time.

image

All we now need is the finishing touch of perfume, provided by the night scented stocks I’ve sown on the surface of each large, corner pot. Should be soon!

Elsewhere in the garden, I recently added two more scented shrubs to the mix.

image

Introducing Itea illicifolia! This evergreen wall shrub has tassels of honey scented blooms, which are now flowering. The books tell me honey, but I detect lemony top notes first, before it deepens to honey tones. I’ve planted this alongside a Garrya elliptica. They are similar in appearance and habit, both producing tassels. Garrya displays it’s long silver tassels at the start of the year, (sadly unscented!) so I’m hoping they will work well together.

image

Now we have a dark leaved elder, Sambucus nigra “Gerda”, which has beautiful dark, nearly black, foliage, and pink clusters of elder flowers in spring. I’m told they are lemon scented, but anyway, I love the smell of elderflowers! In fact I’m rather partial to the taste as well!
This has come about as a bit of an experiment, after a critical appraisal from my stepdad. He is a gardener of the old school – perfect lawns (preferably striped), plants in their allocated space standing to attention and everything pruned to within an inch of its life. I have to hide my secateurs! But he did make me re look at one part of my scented border. “Why were these shrubs spreading out at the front, leaving a big gap at the back? You should cut these out/get rid of them!” He had a point, but there was no way I was getting rid. Possibly the correct approach would be to dig them out and replant, but I didn’t have the heart! So hence the experiment. What could I plant at the back, in the gap, that would tolerate the shade and grow above the shrubs in front, and provide scent and interest? Well, elders naturally grow on the edges of woodlands, so I thought it worth a try! I’m keeping a watchful eye on it!

But for now, I’m back to my aperitif! The sound of the summer breeze through the trees, has been joined by the sound of the weekly church bell practice. It must be heaven!
Now, if I sit out a bit longer, I might be lucky enough to add a bat’s aerial display to the experience! That should cover all the senses! 🙂

11 thoughts on “Summer Breeze…..

      1. Cynthia Reyes

        So now you’ve got me thinking that we need to bring the citrus-like honeysuckle closer to the verandah….. My poor co-gardener will just love another task!

  1. Annette

    This sounds so inviting, Ali, and your seating area looks just like the perfect spot to enjoy an aperitif. Beautiful! I have Trachelospermum growing on the house wall and a Jasminum o. in a pot – haven’t decided whether I should plant it out or not. How cold does it get where you live? Do you cover it during cold spells? Tried Itea but it didn’t like the spot where I put it. I’d love to have a Garrya but rare shrubs, or anything rare really, are hard to find here. Enjoy your beautiful summer garden 🙂

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    It certainly is! As you can probably tell, I love scent in the garden, planning for perfume all year round. But around seating and dining areas especially! A warm summer’s evening just wouldn’t be the same without it!

    Reply
  3. thelonggardenpath Post author

    About your jasmine. We have had no problems with it here, in the Midlands. We have been growing it now, for over 10 years, without protecting it in any way. It grows in a huge pot, about 45cm diameter with a depth of 60cm. at a corner of the pergola. It’s in a fairly sheltered position, in partial shade. It can go down to about -5 deg. at the worst of an average winter, but it has survived temps down to about -10. I do hope that can help you decide!

    Reply
  4. Chloris

    Jasmine of my mind? Do you now I always thought the words were ‘ Jazz men of my mind’ ? And it never made much sense. So there’ s a little mystery cleared up.
    I love Jasmine but I love Trachelospermum even more. The smell is divine.
    Your sitting area looks wonderful, most welcoming.

    Reply
  5. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Actually, I don’t think “jasmine in my mind” makes much sense either! Glad you like our dining area. I’m glad I have both plants – I wouldn’t want to choose between them! They are different.

    Reply
  6. thebikinggardener

    I love the smell of common jasmine too – it is my favourite scent of summer (well apart from sweet peas and roses and pinks and…). I grew up in a house covered in it – and I mean covered since it can be a big plant. I remember those starry white flowers poking out from the dark leaves. Your sambucus ‘Gerda’ has another use – the pink flowers make the most beautiful pink cordial 🙂

    Reply
  7. thelonggardenpath Post author

    It’s so hard to pick a favourite scent. It all depends on what you are sniffing at that moment in time! That’s great news about the elder. I did wonder if the flowers could be used in the same way. We love elderflower cordial, and have made elderflower champagne once. But to have it pink? That would be quite something!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

