Plans Afoot!

image

Well, the garden at the Health Centre, is moving on.

In case any of you don’t know what I’m on about, at the beginning of the year I got the chance to design a Health Centre garden. It was a quadrangle of the most horrendous layout, smothered with a sort of membrane, covered in wood chips and littered with boulders. Not in the least, a pleasing view from all areas of the surgery. “Tombstone city”, as it had been dubbed, was most accurate!

On Friday, I was given some good news – and some bad! I knew my plans had already been accepted, and was waiting to hear about progress. And progress it has! The site has been cleared – done free of charge by the Estate manager, which freed up the money that would have been spent on a gardener to do the job, to be put toward the plants. So now, they have enough money in the kitty for the planting! Exciting stuff! I must now look to fulfill my promise of supplying some of the plants myself, by propagation.

As always, good news comes with bad, and this was no exception. After clearing, they realised it is weed infested – with horsetail! Help! Not one I’ve had to deal with, thankfully, and I believe it to be a bit of a nightmare (pardon the pun!) I need to do a bit of investigation. It will need to be cleared of that before any planting can go ahead.

But otherwise, it’s all exciting stuff! I might be getting my hands dirty soon. Mind you, they usually are anyway, but you get my drift!

On the subject of garden plans, my mum sent some recent photos of her garden. I had used their garden for my final assignment, on my garden design course, and they are gradually creating it a bit at a time. It is a wonderful feeling, seeing what you have visualised and put down on paper, come to fruition. They are modifying certain elements, re the more costly hard landscaping, but I am pleased with the results. So pleased, I thought I might share the current progress. Progress of, not only their garden, but also my attempts with Diptic!

image

6 thoughts on “Plans Afoot!

  1. thebikinggardener

    Congratulations – on many things. Your bad news though – that’s really bad news. Mares tail is the worst weed there is and although you may manage it I think it is unlikely that you will get rid of it all. The only good thing about it is that it is fairly attractive and if it does grow up through your prairie planting it will not look too awful. I have it here and although I am battling with ground elder and bindweed, and largely winning, I know that I would be wasting my time, and to little effect, to eradicate the mares tail. And your mum’s garden looks great. 🙂

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Oh, dear! At least the ground has been cleared, and we’ll be free to zap with weed killer. Wish me luck! And thank you for your kind comment about my mum’s garden.

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    What an exciting time for you – so glad that your health centre design was acceptable and will be going ahead. At least the horsetail was discovered at this stage so that whatever you feel about weedkiller generally can be put aside and the whole area zapped with whatever weedkiller should do the trick – certainly more likely to be successful than trying to use it amonst established plants. I had to google what Diptic was, but if you have knitted together photographs with it then you have made a great job of this as well as the design for your parent’s garden. No doubt they are equally pleased with it!

    Reply
  4. thelonggardenpath Post author

    That was what I was thinking, about the horsetail – wish me luck! I have not only mastered Diptic, but also created a link that has worked. Next stop a link to “In a vase on Monday” so I can join in! What a learning curve this is! Thank you, Cathy, for your kind comments!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

