I went to Ashwood and……

image

…..came back with mundane necessities. Compost, slug pellets (organic, of course!) and liquid seaweed, all had be got. Yawn! But it would be unforgivable not to browse while there! So into the basket went a few other “living” necessities.

Herbs. Our sunny herb border, was needing to be padded out a bit. When I say border, in reality it’s an edging of herbs, along one of our veg. beds. Our herb garden proper, is a tad on the shady side, and while the leafy herbs – oregano, chives, parsley etc.- do well, the woody, Mediterranean herbs prefer the sunny position in the “allotment”. The choice was a bit narrow at this time of year, but they did have what I was looking for – two thymes, one broadleaf, the other “Golden Queen” which is a lemon-scented thyme, and a curry plant. I love the smell it gives off, when it’s hot.

And a scented-leaf pelargonium. I had an empty terracotta pot that was itching to be filled, and was the right size for a pelargonium. My “collection” has now dwindled down to one, and I was keen to get another. This one is P. citriodorum, obviously a lemon- scented geranium. Just coming into flower, too!

All in all, a weekend full of foody smells!

4 thoughts on “I went to Ashwood and……

  1. Chloris

    I have still not managed a visit to Ashwood, it is so far from here. You bought some lovely, summery, smelly, herby things. I love that Pelargonium.

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I know I’m so lucky to have Ashwood on my doorstep. I’m sure you have some wonderful nurseries round you too. Next time we venture over there, I’ll be asking for recommendations! I was pleased with my purchases – I can now tie up some loose ends, so to speak! Most fruitful!

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    So, you went to Ashwood and bought various living and non-living necessities – but you are telling me you didn’t buy any NON-necessities?! Very restrained… 😉

    Reply
  4. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Not so! I indulged in some non-necessities very recently from Crocus online (more on that later). I suppose the Scented-leaf pelargonium was an impulse buy. Next month, though, I should be free from “necessities”, and free to indulge myself! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

