Stolen Pleasures

Lonicera

Lonicera

Well, not really stolen! It’s not our plant, but it does grow over our wall. So we get some of the pleasure from it!

It is so beautifully scented! A real heady scent – even better at night. We are so lucky that it comes over the wall just by our dining area. It mingles with our Trachelospermum prior to their flowering.

I did ask my neighbour which honeysuckle it was. I was thinking of getting one for myself. (Then I realised that there was little point – I sort of had it anyway!) If I remember correctly, he told me it was “Hall’s Prolific”. I have looked it up, and it does seem to fit the description. White, sweet scented flowers, that fade to yellow. It’s described as a sweet vanilla scent. I can’t really detect vanilla, but lovely nevertheless. And, as they state, even stronger in the evening.

A perfect addition to the patio!

14 thoughts on “Stolen Pleasures

  1. Cathy

    I love the way some honeysuckles fade from white to yellow, like this one – and the scent! I have not come across ‘Hall’s Prolific’ before and ‘yours’ certainly looks prolific. There is a wild honeysuckle sprawling through the hedge outside our back door – wonderful!

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      You must also get “stolen pleasure” from it, when it’s in bloom! I must confess, I’m not too over zealous with the secateurs when it comes to cutting it back.

      Reply
      1. Cathy

        I think I consider the honesuckle ‘ours’ though, as the hedge is our boundary and our house more than 200 years before our neighbour’s!! We have bryony and mile a minute on another boundary – definitely NOT ours!!! 🙂

  2. Chloris

    You can’ t beat a honeysuckle for fragrance. I keep seeing wild ones in the hedgerows that are just as good as garden ones. They always seem to be in awkward places to stop and take cuttings though.

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      I love the scent of honeysuckle, though, sadly, not all are. Like the idea of the cutting. Keep your eyes peeled for a suitable candidate, when you’re out and about, and keep a poly bag with you at all times! Our wild honeysuckle is just as lovely.

      Reply
  3. Cynthia Reyes

    It’s a really lovely scent – almost citrus-y. My large one died over the winter – either the ice storm here in Ontario or the hungry wild rabbis. But we have a sucker coming up, and I’m grateful.

    Reply
  4. Charlie@Seattle Trekker

    The description of the scent of a plant is so variable. Your are so fortunate to have first hand experience on which to base your observation. I have bought plants in the nursery in full bloom only to realize that my garden has affected the end result.

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      Aaw! Thank you so much! Yes, it is a lovely fresh, lemony scent. Mind you, I also have another honeysuckle that looks and smells similar. It’s delavayii and its semi evergreen.

      Reply
      1. Cynthia Reyes

        Ours was eaten down to the ground by the wild rabbits, and has struggled to come back this year, so I’ve missed the fragrance at my garden gate. My neighbour has it growing under her bedroom window and she wakes up to the smell, which she loves.

Leave a Reply

