The Garden is awash with white

20140415-090412.jpg

…. Or at least it was! How short-lived! It was only 4 days from idea to photo!

I was revelling in all the white blooms that were out in the garden, and thought it might make a good post. Never mind! I can still show you my blooms but the initial impact has gone.

Let me show you first, two of our inherited shrubs. They are incorporated in our “Scented Shrub” border, even though they don’t meet that criteria, but they are still garden worthy. I just grow scented climbers through them to satisfy my sense of detail.

Amelanchier

Amelanchier

I identified this as an Amelanchier. It is a beautiful shrub that we both love. It has this lovely, white blossom in spring, quickly followed by fresh coppery leaf growth. It’s quiet over the summer but in autumn, it’s an explosion of colour as the leaves turn red. And all in full view of the kitchen window!

Cherry trees

Cherry trees

Our pair of unknown Cherry trees and they do give fruit too – which the birds seem to love! Stunning against a blue sky!

Osmanthus delavayi

Osmanthus delavayi

Now onto my scented shrubs! My Osmanthus is covered in clusters of small, white flowers which pump out a delicious scent over a large area. The rest of the time, it looks good, with small, dark green leaves, forming a rounded, evergreen shrub.

Magnolia stellata

Magnolia stellata

It’s almost the perfect flower! Star-like, as it’s name suggests. I replanted this from a pot last autumn, to hopefully give it better conditions. It’s not done too badly, although still, as in previous years, many of the furry buds don’t bring forth flowers. I must investigate further.

Viburnum carlessii "Aurora"

Viburnum carlessii “Aurora”

I am allowing myself a bit of licence by including white with a hint of pink! The viburnum’s snowball shaped blooms look just as lovely while developing, with clusters of ruby buds. And once they open the scent is just as lovely – possibly clove, similar to pinks.

Daphne tangutica

Daphne tangutica

And in the scent stakes, Daphne takes some beating. This variety, tangutica, is an evergreen shrub about 3-4 ft high, with the typical Daphne flowers. It often repeat flowers throughout the season – an added bonus!

Our Mini Orchard

Our Mini Orchard

Now I want to introduce you to our “Mini Orchard”. It consists of 5 cordon fruit trees, lining one of the “Allotment” paths. We have 2 pears – “Doyenne du Comice” and “Conference” – a “Scrumptious” apple tree – a “Victoria” plum – and a cherry, “Summer Sun”. Last year was its first full year and produced a fair amount of fruit. It, too, is bursting forth with white blossoms, and is looking good for another possible good harvest – fingers x’d!

And, in addition, we have several white-flowered spring flowers doing their bit as well, but I must stop somewhere!

8 thoughts on “The Garden is awash with white

  1. Annette

    How I love Amelanchier! It’s such a wonderful shrub and looking good all year, from blossom over fruit to its fiery autumn colour. I also grow M. stellata and Osmanthus delavayi. I’m still looking for Daphne. Not that easy to get around here. Maybe tomorrow on the spring plant fair…it’s nice to see that you’re mad about you garden! Happy Easter and enjoy 🙂

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      Oh, I certainly am! Your spring plant fair sounds interesting. I love plant fairs. My favourite is Malvern which happens next month. Can’t wait! Hope you enjoy yours – you must share it with us!

      Reply
  2. angiesgardendiaries

    Some super whites – how wonderful a mini orchard, I hope this year’s crop is just as, if not more, than last. There’s sure to be plenty of pollinators around to help them along!
    I note re your Magnolia – last year was the first time mine flowered (2nd year) and it took an age for the buds to mature and flowered right up until July here. I wonder if perhaps it just gets a bit too hot where you are and the buds might just give up in the heat. I am of course basing this on my observations of my plant rather than any sort of technical knowledge – so please forgive me if I’m wrong 🙂
    Have a Happy Easter 🙂

    Reply
  3. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Thank you, I’m so chuffed about my orchard! Last year I had good yields from my pears and apple but the cherry and plum still have to produce – here’s hoping for this year! You’ll certainly hear about it! As for my magnolia, thanks for your advice. You may be right, but mine grows in shade. I’m wondering if it’s more lack of water – it was in a pot to start with. Maybe next year, will see an improvement. And Happy Easter to you!

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    Our early blossom seemed to last longer than of late because it has been such a nice spring – but I know what you mean about the white, as form the kitchen windows that has the predominant colour for some time. Interesting to hear about your cordons as I put cherry, pear and greengage in 2 years ago I think – a little blossom last year but no fruit, lots of blossom on the cherry and greengage this year. Shall we be hopeful together…?!

    Reply
  5. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I still think I was lucky with my first complete year, although my cherry didn’t fruit and the plum didn’t even flower. The pears and apple did well though – a good haul! However, they are all flowering this year so here’s hoping! We can compare!

    Reply
  6. Chloris

    With a bit of luck you should get plenty of fruit. A lovely selection.
    I have noticed that you plant a lot for fragrance. You have lovely smelly things. I love Osmanthus. Well actually I love all your scented plants.

    Reply
  7. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Thank you! Scent is probably the most important factor in our garden. I can’t imagine a garden without it! I certainly choose shrubs for scent, and the intention is for something smelly all year round. That’s the plan behind our scented shrub border, anyway. As for the orchard, I’m really hoping for a good year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

