The Cutting Calender – March

Daffs

Daffs

Another round-up of cuttings to peruse!

“Daffs” came out top for me. Just a simple collection of odd blooms, but I find daffs in a vase to be the cheeriest of displays. Always a “must have” in our house, even if they’re bought or grown indoors as bulb arrangements, but so much nicer cut from the garden! The setting of my simple vase, on our crockery dresser, makes the picture complete.

The other contenders are our Hellebores.

Hellebores floating

Hellebores floating

A well recognised way of displaying these winter beauties, as you can more easily appreciate the beauty of the blooms, which normally hang their heads from view. It lasted well, too, for many days. And it showed all the varieties we have in the garden.

Hellebore "Ashwood hybrid"

Hellebore “Ashwood hybrid”

A beautiful, smoky black hybrid, which normally resides in our “Black & White” beds.

Hellebore "Ashwood hybrid"

Hellebore “Ashwood hybrid”

This lovely, pink one, here displayed with a fresh, new leaf of Anthriscus “Ravenswing”, is normally making itself at home in the “Woodland”. The leaf just sets it off beautifully.
These last two small, vases, were displayed together at either end of our mantle shelf. I think they look just splendid against the grey wall!

Hard choice!

10 thoughts on “The Cutting Calender – March

  1. Chloris

    Daffs are so cheery for the house and they are the only thing I don’t mind cutting because I have loads. I love your black Hellebore.
    I wish you would tell us your name, we can’t go on calling you The Long Garden. You could always make a name up, I did. It doesn’t have to be your real one. I’ m not really The Goddess of Flowers or a Nymph of the Islands of the Blessed as Chloris is. Believe it or not.

    Reply
  2. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Glad you like my flowers! Let me introduce myself! I’m Ali – “You can call me Al”! And that is my real name, or at least a shortened version of it! I wondered where Chloris came from!

    Reply
  3. Annette

    Perfectly captured all of them but especially the last two hellebores! I have such difficulties cutting flowers in my own garden unless I’ve lots and lots of them so I usually end up buying them. The Ashwood hybrid is a stunner 🙂

    Reply
  4. thelonggardenpath Post author

    Thank you for liking my Hellebores! In actual fact, they are all Ashwood hybrids. That comes from being lucky enough to live near the nursery. Was it the black one you particularly liked? It makes quite a statement!

    Reply
  5. thelonggardenpath Post author

    I do like that combo – it was a sudden flash of inspiration, that worked! The smoky colours go well together. Thank you for coming to have a look! I must check out your garden of Hesperides.

    Reply
  6. Cathy

    Ahah – I wondered if you were deliberately incognito, Ali! I like the idea of a black and white border and look forward to seeing more views of your garden. You managed to get lovely long stems to cut for some of your hellebores, didn’t you? Now mine are maturing more it is fascinating to see how much taller they get.

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      No, not attempting to be anonymous – more, a novice to all of this trying to work it out! Changes may be in order! As for my black and white beds, thank you, I will try and show you when they’re ready!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

