Oops! I did it again!

Yet again a casual trip to the garden centre has resulted in me leaving with two purchases – two new scented shrubs – of course!

Sarcococca orientalis and Sarcococca ruscifolia

Sarcococca orientalis and Sarcococca ruscifolia


Two new Sarcococcas – my current favs. This brings my count now of these wonderful small shrubs up to five.
Otherwise known as Christmas Box, they have a similarity to this well-known old faithful. They are very well behaved little shrubs. They are well adapted to shady conditions, with the small glossy leaves reflecting light. But there is more to them than being an evergreen stalwart of the shrub border understory. At the height of winter, when all can still appear dormant and dreary, they come into bloom. The flowers themselves may not scream at you, being small and insignificant, but the scent they emit is anything but!
I use them as edging plants in my scented shrub border. They need little to no maintenance and don’t need the clipping often required of box edging. As they are such easy to grow plants, that don’t easily outgrow their desired area, it’s not surprising that my collection keeps growing! And, another plus, is that their branches can be cut to bring indoors – as you can see from my previous posts!

2 thoughts on “Oops! I did it again!

Leave a Reply

