The Scented Path

Mahonia japonica

Mahonia japonica

I adore scent in the garden! In fact, I’d go so far as to say a garden without scent is incomplete – somewhat lacking. You won’t be surprised then when I tell you that our garden revolves around it and largely, dictates my choice of plants. If a trip to the nursery reveals a new, scented plant, there is no way I can leave empty handed!
After my “walk round the estate” earlier, enjoying the scents of our winter flowering shrubs, I am urged to share these with you, throughout the year – hence “The Scented Path”.
Let’s start with my Mahonia above. This has been flowering now since October, it’s tiny daffodil-like flowers emitting a lovely scent of lily-of-the-valley. It’s an evergreen, architectural shrub, with large,sharp, holly-like leaves that sometime take on autumn tints. The flowers give way to racemes of blue-black berries and so has all year round interest. And nil maintenance!

4 thoughts on “The Scented Path

  1. Chloris

    I agree with you, I think scent is the most exciting thing about the winter garden. it is quite intoxicating if you choose the right plants. I see you have Mahonia japonica. which smells wonderful unlike Mahonia Charity’ which has only the faintest trace of perfume.
    Good luck with your blog.

    Reply
  2. Chloris

    I’ve just checked out that nursery you mentioned in your comment on my blog. Oh my goodness, I would be bankrupt if I lived near you. The amazing shrubs and climbers they have. A pink Holboellia! And the awful thing is, they don’t do mail order.

    Reply
    1. thelonggardenpath Post author

      I know! An amazing garden too – well worth a visit if poss! We’re also lucky enough to live just along the road from Ashwood Nurseries (as in Ashwood hellebores- a gem at this time of year). That’s where all my money goes! And they do mail order.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

